Patent in India is granted by Indian Patent Office, Ministry of Commerce, and Government of India. It is located at four locations in India –


Territorial jurisdiction of a patent office is decided according to:

  1. Place of residence, domicile or business of the applicant (first mentioned applicant in the case of joint applicants).
  2. Place from where the invention actually originated.
  3. Address for service in India given by the applicant, when the Applicant has no place of business or domicile in India (Foreign applicants).

Territorial jurisdictions are given below:

Patent OfficeTerritorial Jurisdiction
MumbaiThe States of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Goa, Chhattisgarh, the Union Territories of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.
DelhiThe States of Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh,Uttarakhand, National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Chandigarh.
ChennaiThe States of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and the Union Territories of Pondicherry and Lakshadweep.
KolkataRest of India (States of Bihar, Orissa, West Bengal, Sikkim, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh and Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands)